Poetry

Finding smiles

Something's Got to Give

Something’s Got to Give (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It has been so long

since I have tried

to form my feelings

into these words

so much has changed

I can no longer worry

about the little things

that caused such turmoil

in the past

I have too much to look after

too much to do right

but

somethings haven’t changed

like the sadness

in my heart

knowing that you

and I

will probably never see eye to eye

we have built this life

together

but what is it all for-

If we never have a day

of real happiness?

I have learned to find my smiles

in the eyes of the innocent

she does not comprehend

the intricacies of life

or the distance that grows between us

-I wrote this about the struggle of a failing marriage when there is a child involved 

©Ellice Campbell 2013

Let’s Connect!

Find me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Pin with me on Pinterest

 

Standard

One thought on “Finding smiles

Leave a Reply

