Poetry, The Wonder Years

Lately…

lately I’ve been losing control

almost wishing you’d give me

a reason

one reason to let you go

cause

lately it’s been so hard

part of me sees the hope & the light

but slowly the dark side seems to be winning

the battle raging in my heart

I’ve changed

I’ve turned into someone

I never meant to be

Lately

I’ve been waiting for a sign

a sign we’re really meant to be

but the sign hasn’t come

Lately it’s been so hard

I want to be stronger

but lately it’s been so hard

 

I wrote this 3/21/96, a year after graduating high school when my first real relationship was drawing to a close. 

 

©Ellice Campbell 2013

 

Let’s Connect!

Find me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Pin with me on Pinterest

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Lately…

  1. Pingback: Paradise Lost | Ellice Campbell

  2. Pingback: Overdue Goodbyes | Ellice Campbell

  3. Pingback: Keeping Me | Ellice Campbell

Leave a Reply

